Bihar Lok Sabha election results: highlights

first_imgThe BJP had a very slender advantage as of 9.30 pm, winning ten seats and leading in seven. The Janata Dal (United) was close behind, winning 7 and leading in 9. Bihar is set to face a tough battle with the BJP-led NDA pitted against the RJD-led Mahagathbandhan. This is the second time the Opposition alliance has come together to defeat the BJP.In 2014, the BJP held 22 of the 40 seats in the State. Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party and Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) are in eight seats. The JD(U) was originally a part of the Mahagathbandhan, but Mr. Kumar resigned as Chief Minister in 2017 and allied with the BJP.Here are the updates: Trends as of 12 p.mThe BJP and its allies are leading in 36 of the State’s 40 seats as of 12 p.m. The BJP fought the elections in Bihar this year Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) and the Lok Jan Shakti party. The BJP is leading in 16 seats, the JD(U) in 16 and the Lok Jan Shakti Party in 6. The five-party alliance of the Congress and Lalu Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal has managed to bag just 2 seats. Exit polls had predicted a sweeping victory for the BJP alliance with 38 seats or so.  How are the key candidates faring?Prominent candidates in Bihar in this year’s polls included actor Shatrughan Sinha who fought for the Congress against Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad in Patna Sahib. The Union Minister is leading with 64.91 % of the vote share against Sinha’s 22.98%. Former student union leader Kanhaiya Kumar, the Left candidate in Begusarai is trailing at 24.44% of the vote share, against BJP’s Giriaj Singh at 55.33%.  Trends as of 10 a.mAs of 10 a.m., the BJP-JD(U) alliance in Bihar is leading in 32 of the State’s 40 Lok Sabha seats. The five-party alliance of the Congress-RJD has managed to bag just 2. The Lok Jan Shakti Party, which has a seat-sharing formula with the BJP-JD(U) alliance is leading in six of the seats. Exit polls had predicted a sweeping victory for the BJP alliance with 38 seats or so. In the 2014 Parliamentary elections, the BJP-LJP-RLSP combine won 31 seats, with the RJD-Congress-NCP alliance winning 7; the JDU had bagged two and the RJD won 4. The Congress had won two seats and the JD-U, which contested separately had won two as well.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *